7 News New Hampshire Primary coverage

(Chris Matthews & I)

(Myself and Chuck Todd)

(Myself, Andrea Mitchell, and my co-worker Alex Sims)

(Myself, Suffolk University professor and Suffolk University pollster David Paleologos)

(7 News political editor Andy Hiller and myself)


(7 news night team anchors Kim Khazei and Reid Lamberty & I!)

The past couple weeks, I got a really cool opportunity to assist with WHDH-TV 7 news primary coverage in Manchester, NH. We shuttled back and forth from Boston to New Hampshire everyday, leaving the station in Boston around 1 pm and getting back around 12:30 at night. I helped out with primary coverage by carrying out my usual duties as a Production Assistant for the shows at 4, 4:30, 5, 5:30, 6, 10, 11, and special show (on results day) at 7:30 pm. This includes arranging rundowns and scripts, running teleprompter, and other miscellaneous tasks; in other words I’m like an indispensable right hand! 😉 The NH primaries took place at the Radisson hotel in Manchester, NH.

Just being there was exciting! I got to see first hand how everything works at the New Hampshire primaries. I also had the chance to meet reputable MSNBC television personalities such as Chris Matthews (host of Hardball & the Chris Matthews show), Chuck Todd (chief White House correspondent and political director for NBC News), and Andrea Mitchell (NBC News Cheif Foreign Affairs correspondent). Other people there included Brian Williams, Peter Alexander, and Diane Sawyer. Whenever I had some downtime, I made it a point to introduce myself and talk to as many different people as I could (and take pictures, as you can see).

During the week leading up to the results of the New Hampshire primary, 7 news night team anchor Reid Lamberty’s set was set up in the armory at the lobby level of the Radisson hotel, and 7 news political editor Andy Hiller was setup on the 12th floor. During results week, Kim Khazei also joined Reid Lamberty and anchored with him in the armory, where all of the other NBC network affiliates were also set up as well. Several different television networks were at the NH primary like NBC, CBS, and Fox.

Suffolk University pollster David Paleologos was also present along with Suffolk Alums and others involved with Suffolk University. The Suffolk University Political Research Center has worked in partnership with WHDH-TV 7 News since 2002 in conducting statewide polls, presidential primary polls,  and other analyses. SUPRC has gained attention on a national an international scale due to it’s high degree of accuracy in polling. I’m really proud of SUPRC and all it’s accomplished, and I’m proud to say that I’m a student of Suffolk University.

Results day was January 10th, and the results went as follows:

#1, Mitt Romney with 39.3% of votes

#2, Ron Paul with 22.9% of votes

#3, Jon Huntsman with 16.9% of votes

#4, Newt Gingrich with 9.4% of votes

#5, Rick Santorum with 9.4% of votes

#6, Rick Perry with 0.7% of votes

Experiencing primary coverage in NH was overall a great experience! I got to meet a lot of people, and learned a lot about how the whole process works. I also enjoyed connecting with my co-workers in a different setting outside of the station in Boston.

Leave a Reply

